Buses, Transportation News
0

Potential MBTA service cuts and fare increases could be brutal for Somerville

Tsad.jpg

The MBTA, attempting to deal with painful deficits, announced plans to raise fares and cut services. Two scenarios are presented, both of which are ugly. Scenario 1 relies more on fare increases, while scenario 2 focuses on cuts to service, including the elimination of 6 important Somerville bus routes: 80, 85, 90, 92, 95, and 96.
Key links:

Somerville Patch: “Your Thoughts: Fare Hikes, Maybe Bus Eliminations Coming to Somerville”


Public comments can be emailed to fareproposal@mbta.com
or mailed to:
Fare Proposal
10 Park Plaza, Suite 3910
Boston, MA 02116
There will be many public meetings on these proposed changes. Make your opinion heard!
Attleboro
Attleboro High School
100 Rathbun Willard Drive
Tuesday, January 24; 4:30-6:30 PM
Boston
Transportation Building
Floor 2 Conference Rooms 2, 3
10 Park Plaza
Monday, January 23; 1-3 PM, 4:30-6:30 PM
Boston (Mattapan)
Mildred Avenue Community Center
5 Mildred Avenue
Tuesday, January 31; 6-8 PM
Boston (Roxbury)
Roxbury Community College
Auditorium
1234 Columbus Avenue, Roxbury
Thursday, January 19; 6-8 PM
Boston (South Station area)
Boston Public Library
Boston Room
700 Boylston Street
Monday, February 13; 6-8 PM
Boston (West End)
Shriners Hospital
Auditorium
51 Blossom Street
Wednesday, February 8; 4:30-6:30 PM
Jamaica Plain
Hennigan Community Center
Cafeteria
200 Heath Street
Jamaica Plain
Wednesday, February 1; 6-8 PM
Cambridge
Citywide Senior Center
806 Massachusetts Avenue
Wednesday, February 29; 6-8 PM
Chelsea
Public Library, Auditorium
569 Broadway
Wednesday, January 18; 6-8 PM
Framingham
Town Hall
150 Concord Street
Tuesday, February 14th; 6-8 PM
Hingham
Town Hall
Central Meeting Room
210 Central Street
Wednesday, February 8; 6-8 PM
Lowell
City Hall
Council Chambers
375 Merrimack Street
Monday, February 6; 5-7 PM
Lynn
City Council Chambers
3 City Hall Square
Tuesday, February 7; 6-8 P.M.
Malden
City Council Chambers
200 Pleasant St
Thursday, February 16; 6-8 PM
Quincy
Thomas Crane Public Library
Community Room
40 Washington Street
Wednesday, February 15; 6-8 PM
Salem
City Hall Annex
3rd Floor Conference Room
120 Washington Street
Wednesday, January 25; 6-8 PM
Somerville
High School
Auditorium
81 Highland Avenue
Tuesday, February 28; 6-8 PM
Waltham
Government Center
Auditorium
119 School Street
Thursday, March 1; 6-8 PM
Worcester
Public Library
Saxe Room
3 Salem Square
Tuesday, January 17; 6-8 PM
Newton
Newton City Hall
War Memorial Hall
1000 Commonwealth Avenue
Tuesday, January 17; 5:30-7:30 PM
American Sign Language (ASL) interpretation will be available at all public meetings / hearings.
If requested in advance, translation services will be available at the public meetings / hearings.

Related Posts
Transportation investment research
Critical report on MBTA and expansion
Public comments needed to keep Green Line on track

Leave Your Comment

Your Comment*

Your Name*
Your Webpage